The Board of Education of the Tamaqua Area School District met in special session in the LGI room on Tuesday, December 3, 2024 at 7:00 PM with director Nicholas Boyle temporarily presiding in place of President Larry Wittig. Mr. Boyle led in the "Pledge of Allegiance." A moment of silent meditation followed.

PRESENT

Larry Wittig, President Nicholas Boyle, Vice President Daniel Schoener, Treasurer Tom Bartasavage Melanie Dillman Nancy Jones Bryan Miller Trina Schellhammer

ABSENT

Mark Rother

<u>Administrative Staff in Attendance</u> – Raymond Kinder, Superintendent; Stephen Toth, Assistant Superintendent; Connie Ligenza, Business Manager and Kenny Dunkelberger, Chief Operation Officer.

Others in Attendance - one member of the press

Miller nominated Boyle as Temporary President. Wittig made a motion seconded by Bartasavage to close the nominations. Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Secretary's Report on Confirmation of Election and Expiration of Term of Office of all Board Members was presented.

Temporary President Boyle asked for the names for the office of President.

Miller nominated Larry Wittig.

Schellhammer made a motion seconded by Bartasavage to close the nominations. Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Wittig was declared President by acclamation.

Temporary President Boyle asked for names for the Vice President.

Miller nominated Nicholas Boyle.

Wittig made a motion seconded by Schellhammer to close the nominations. Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Boyle was declared Vice President by acclamation.

Elected President Wittig took charge of the meeting.

President Wittig established the second Tuesday at 7:00 PM as the Board Committee Meeting and the third Tuesday at 7:30 PM for the regular Board Meeting; including a summer compressed schedule and that all meetings will take place in the Large Group Instruction Room at the Tamaqua Middle School.

President Wittig appointed the following Committees.

Auxiliary Committee

Mark Rother, Chairman Thomas Bartasavage Trina Schellhammer

Finance Committee

Daniel Schoener, Chairman Larry Wittig Nicholas Boyle

Hearing Committee

Nicholas Boyle, Chairman Bryan Miller Thomas Bartasavage Nancy Jones Larry Wittig, Alternate

Security Committee

Nicholas Boyle, Chairman Thomas Bartasavage Larry Wittig

Education Committee

Melanie Dillman, Chairman Nancy Jones Bryan Miller

Health & Welfare

Trina Schellhammer Melanie Dillman, Alternate

Uniform Committee

Daniel Schoener, Chairman Larry Wittig Thomas Bartasavage

PSBA Representative

Larry Wittig

Legislative Awareness

Larry Wittig

I.U. Representative

Larry Wittig

STC Representative

Trina Schellhammer

EIT Representative

Connie Ligenza, Business Administrator/Board Secretary Larry Wittig, Alternate John Hurst (Mahanoy Area SD Business Administrator), Alternate

E.S.R.C. Representative

Thomas Bartasavage

Tamaqua Library Representative

Melanie Dillman

President Wittig called for the recommendations of the committees.

<u>Education Committee</u> – Dillman presented the following items as recommendations for the Education Committee.

Dillman made a motion seconded by Boyle to approve the following for the 2024-2025 school year; Special Education Teacher; Certified School Nurse; Reclassification; contingent upon the submission of the necessary documentation.

Elizabeth Hannon, Tamaqua, PA 18252, Special Education Teacher, Master's Step 8, at a salary of \$59,703

Michael Walser, Tamaqua, PA 18252, Certified School Nurse, Bachelor's Step 1, at a salary of \$45,048

Reclassification of Jennifer Hermany, from Part-Time Health Room Assistant to Full-Time Certified School Nurse, Bachelor's Step 1, at a salary of \$45,048

Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

<u>Finance Committee</u> – Schoener presented the following items as recommendations for the Finance Committee.

Schoener made a motion seconded by Boyle to approve the following for the 2024-2025 school year; Solicitor Appointment; Full-Time Health Room Assistant; contingent upon the submission of the necessary documentation.

Erik M. Helbing, Esquire, Bowe & Odorizzi Law, LLC for the 2025 calendar year; retainer at \$5,200 and an hourly rate of \$175.00 Yarilis Valasco, Hazleton, PA 18201, Full-Time Health Room Assistant at a rate to be determined

Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Old Business - None

New Business - None

Hearings - None

Boyle made a motion seconded by Schoener to adjourn the meeting at 7:21 PM. Wittig, Boyle, Schoener, Bartasavage, Dillman, Jones, Miller and Schellhammer all voted "FOR."

Attest:

Connie Ligenza Business Administrator/ Board Secretary